Friday, June 21, 2024

WA grows new ag scholarship program

WA’s next generation of agriculture and food scientists are being encouraged to apply for a new postgraduate scholarship program.

The program is an initiative of the State Government-backed WA Agricultural Research Collaboration (WAARC) and will strengthen research, development and extension capabilities to help future-proof the State’s agriculture and food sector.

“The WA Agricultural Research Collaboration has a strong focus on providing opportunities for the next generation of leading scientists, by promoting a vibrant research environment in Western Australia,” said Agriculture and Food Minister, Jackie Jarvis.

“This postgraduate scholarship program is a significant investment to encourage bright research minds into the agriculture and food sector.

“Over three years the State Government will provide $25 million dollars in funding to WAARC to boost the State’s research capacity and the ability to respond to new challenges within primary industries,” she said.

WAARC – with the support of its three university members Curtin University, Murdoch University and The University of Western Australia (pictured) – has opened the first round of the program, offering scholarships for up to 12 eligible PhD students.

Scholarship recipients will be provided an annual stipend top-up of $24,000, to support their living expenses while completing their PhDs.

Successful applicants will need to align their research projects with one or more of WAARC’s six research, development, extension and adoption programs, including:

  • Northern Agriculture;
  • Grains Transformation;
  • Climate Resilience;
  • Agricultural Technologies;
  • Aboriginal Science Engagement; and
  • Capacity Building and Extension.

Applications are now open with this first round of the program closing on 16 April 2024.

Application information is available online at

WAARC brings together the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development, CSIRO, Grower Group Alliance, Curtin University, Murdoch University and The University of Western Australia.

Latest Articles