Friday, June 21, 2024

NT health investment in spotlight with new committee

The NT Government has formed a new Health Advisory Committee to guide health service investment across the Territory. 

NT Chief Minister and Health Minister, Natasha Fyles said the Government was making sure the health system was sustainable for generations to come. 

“Increasing community involvement in the planning and delivery of health services brings additional health benefits to local residents. This is all about putting the rights of remote communities first,” she said. 

“Having the new Health Advisory Committee will make sure we have the voices of all Territorians heard. 

“The new Regional Community Engagement Groups will further make sure the needs of regional Territorians are met.” 

The Committee will partner with the community in the design and governance of health care, as well as identifying priorities. 

Membership includes 11 representatives from all five regions of the NT and is Chaired by Bilawarra Lee (pictured).

The members are diverse and include representation from the LGBTQI+, disability, mental health and foster carer communities, as well as a broad range of cultures, with one third identifying as Aboriginal. 

Latest Articles