Friday, April 19, 2024

New Chair for Hydro Tasmania

The Tasmanian Government has announced the appointment of Richard Bolt as the new chair of state-owned electricity generator, Hydro Tasmania.

“Along with the rest of the nation, Tasmania’s energy sector is going through an extremely challenging and also exciting period and it is vital to have a chair with Mr Bolt’s wide experience,” said Minister for Energy and Renewables, Guy Barnett.

“Mr Bolt has extensive experience in the energy sector in both New South Wales and Victoria and also national frameworks.

“He has broad experience in both the private and government sectors and has worked with Tasmanian departments in energy and education in Commonwealth-State ministerial forums.

“I congratulate Mr Bolt on his appointment and I look forward to working with him to progress Tasmania’s renewable energy agenda.”

Mr Bolt will begin in the role from July 1, 2023.

“I sincerely thank retiring chair Grant Every-Burns for his outstanding leadership of Hydro Tasmania for nearly a decade,’’ Minister Barnett said.

Mr Every-Burns has been chair of Hydro Tasmania since 2014 which included the celebration of Hydro’s centenary of service to the people of Tasmania and also the state achieving 100 per cent self-sufficiency in renewable electricity.

Latest Articles