Monday, June 24, 2024

New appointments to Outback Communities Authority

Three leadership appointments have been announced for the Outback Communities Authority (OCA) – South Australia’s statutory authority for managing the provision of public services and facilities to outback communities. 

Jan Ferguson OAM (pictured) has been appointed Presiding Member until June 2025 after leading the OCA as interim chair for three months to allow nominations to take place. 

Ms Ferguson brings to the role extensive professional experience in supporting Aboriginal people, outback communities and businesses, along with experience as a previous OCA member. 

Ngatina Sylvanius.

Ngatina Sylvanius and Leila Day have also been appointed to serve as OCA members until June 2025. 

Ms Sylvanius is a passionate and committed fifth generation community member of Beltana, serving as the Beltana Progress Association President since 2012 and is strongly invested in working to create a flourishing outback for all who live, work and visit in the region. 

Ms Day is an Andamooka local working as an opal gouger, artist, tour guide and Chair of the SA Arid Lands Kingoonya Landscape Group, as well as a board member of the region’s peak tourism body. 

The new appointments were supported by existing members Trevor Wright, Sam Johnson and Tony Vaughan. 

The OCA aims to articulate the views, interests and aspirations of outback communities and people in South Australia.  

It has jurisdiction over almost two-thirds of South Australia not covered by local councils, serving about 4,500 people residing in numerous small communities, service locations and pastoral and farming properties. 

Latest Articles