Monday, June 24, 2024

Eight NSW Police receive King’s Birthday honour

The NSW Minister for Police and NSW Police Commissioner have congratulated eight serving and one former officer who have been awarded the prestigious Australian Police Medal (APM) as part of the King’s Birthday 2024 Honours.

Among the recipients are senior officers from the Public Transport & Public Safety Command Major Event Group, State, Newcastle City Police District, Lake Macquarie Police District, Public Affairs Branch, Richmond Police District, State Intelligence, Police Property Group and the Rural Crime Prevention Team.

Minister for Police and Counter-terrorism, Yasmin Catley thanked the officers for their dedication and hard work.

“These police officers are being recognised for their exceptional work, and they could not be more deserving of this outstanding achievement,” said Minister Yatley.

“They have gone above and beyond for the people of NSW, and I want to personally thank them for their service.”

Commissioner Karen Webb congratulated those officers today bestowed the APM.

“Through this award these officers have been recognised for their dedication to not only the policing profession but for their service to the people of NSW,” she said.

“Every one of these police have each given decades of selfless service.

“Receiving this award will go down as one of the highlights of their career.”

The NSW Police APM recipients are:

  • Chief Inspector Amanda Lee Calder – Public Transport & Public Safety Command Major Event Group
  • Retired Detective Sergeant Matthew David Faber – Formerly attached to Newcastle City Police District
  • Detective Sergeant Kristi Lee Faber – Lake Macquarie Police District
  • Superintendent Kirsty Maree Heyward – Public Affairs Branch
  • Detective Sergeant Michael Barry Smith – Richmond Police District
  • Superintendent Scott Richard Tanner (pictured, right) – Richmond Police District
  • Senior Sergeant Catherine Ann Urquhart (pictured, centre) – State Intelligence
  • Detective Superintendent David Anthony Waddell (pictured, left) – Police Property Group
  • Detective Chief Inspector Cameron James Whiteside – Rural Crime Prevention Team.

Latest Articles