Saturday, July 13, 2024

Advisory panel to lead medical research growth plan

WA Medical Research Minister, Stephen Dawson today announced the appointment of an advisory panel following the launch of a 10 year plan to grow Western Australia’s health and medical research sector.

The WA Health and Medical Research Strategy 2023-2033 aims to build WA’s health workforce, grow partnerships and promote the State’s health and medical research achievements, both at home and around the world.

Medical Research Minister, Stephen Dawson said the panel’s appointment, for an initial two-year term, is the first step in the implementation of the Strategy, which is being facilitated by the Department of Health.

“The formation of this panel is an important step towards the roll-out of the Cook Government’s vision of a vibrant and interconnected health and medical research sector,” said Minister Dawson.

“I wish to welcome the panel members, whose experience and expertise will help us identify new frontiers for our already thriving sector.

“I am confident this expert panel will identify new opportunities, so we can strive for excellence and grow health and medical research into the next decade.”

A conduit for the WA research sector to communicate with the Department, the panel will advise and guide the Department on matters related to the implementation of the Strategy.

The expert panel will be chaired by the Department’s Deputy Director General, Angela Kelly PSM (pictured).

Ms Kelly holds an economics qualification from the University of Western Australia and has experience overseeing large programs as well as delivery and management of key infrastructure, budgets and broader reforms in the WA Health System.

Ms Kelly is joined by representatives from key stakeholder groups including:

  • John Van Der Wielen – Future Health Research and Innovation Fund Advisory Council;
  • Professor Ian Everall – WA Health Translation Network;
  • Professor Romola Bucks – The University of Western Australia;
  • Dr Grant Waterer – East Metropolitan Health Service;
  • Renee Hallam – representing Medical Research Institutes;
  • Professor Kevin Pfleger – The University of Western Australia;
  • Bronwyn le Grice – Australia’s National Digital Health Initiative;
  • Anthony DeCeglie – Telethon Trust;
  • Deborah Attard Portughes – Women and Infants Research Foundation;
  • Dylan Smith – Philanthropy Australia; and
  • Glenda Swinbourne – Consumer representative.

As the group’s Chair, Ms Kelly will be responsible for decision-making on recommendations made by the panel that relate to the roll-out of the strategy.

The panel will be supported by a government reference group and a series of working groups and roundtables, to be established as needed.

For more information about the WA Health and Medical Research Strategy 2023-2033, visit WA Health and Medical Research Strategy 2023-2033.

Latest Articles