Saturday, July 13, 2024

60 schools to join WA clean energy effort

WA Education Minister, Tony Buti, has today announced that another 60 Western Australian public schools will go greener under the State Government’s Schools Clean Energy Technology Fund.

Under Round 3 funding, WA public schools were invited to apply for funds to install light emitting diode (LED) lights to reduce their energy costs and carbon emissions.

Schools from across the State applied, with 32 regional schools and 28 metropolitan schools announced as successful recipients.

“I am proud to announce that another 60 WA public schools will be supported to reduce their energy use as part of the State’s broader vision for a low carbon future,” said Minister Buti.

“It is important that we continue investing in clean energy solutions to reduce overall energy costs for schools, lower their impact on the environment, and provide a more sustainable future.

“These initiatives also provide valuable opportunities for students and teachers to observe, discuss, and understand the benefits of renewable energy and technologies in real time.”

The investment will increase the number of WA public schools to receive a contribution from the $44.6 millionSchools Clean Energy Technology Fund to 240 over four years.

The initiative also expands on the existing Solar Schools Program, Synergy’s Virtual Power Plant Program, and general maintenance replacement of lighting in schools with LED.

Schools Clean Energy Technology Fund – Round 3 successful schools:


1.    Kalgoorlie-Boulder Community High School (pictured)

2.    East Kimberley College

3.    Cervantes Primary School

4.    Chapman Valley Primary School

5.    Dongara District High School

6.    Gascoyne Junction Remote Community School

7.    Mount Tarcoola Primary School

8.    Perenjori Primary School

9.    Three Springs Primary School

10.  Yalgoo Primary School

11.  Australind Primary School

12.  Carey Park Primary School

13.  Dalyellup College

14.  Denmark Senior High School

15.  Manjimup Primary School

16.  Mount Barker Community College

17.  Newton Moore Senior High School

18.  North Albany Senior High School

19.  Ongerup Primary School

20.  Picton Primary School

21.  Yarloop Primary School

22.  Donnybrook District High School

23.  Kendenup Primary School

24.  Bolgart Primary School

25.  Goomalling Primary School

26.  Kukerin Primary School

27.  Mukinbudin District High School

28.  Newdegate Primary School

29.  Nungarin Primary School

30.  Pingrup Primary School

31.  Toodyay District High School

32.  Williams Primary School

North Metro

33.  Alkimos Primary School

34.  Ashdale Primary School

35.  Ashdale Secondary College

36.  Bullsbrook College

37.  Burbridge School

38.  Caversham Primary School

39.  Creaney Education Support Centre

40.  Gidgegannup Primary School

41.  Joondalup Primary School

42.  Kinross College

43.  Roseworth Primary School

44.  South Ballajura Primary School

45.  Quinns Beach Primary School

46.  Swan View Senior High School

South Metro

47.  Atwell College

48.  Belmont City College

49.  Canning College

50.  Challis Community Primary School

51.  Comet Bay College

52.  Forrestfield Primary School

53.  Lakeland Senior High School

54.  Pickering Brook Primary School

55.  South Coogee Primary School

56.  South Thornlie Primary School

57.  Warnbro Community High School

58.  Halls Head College

59.  Hammond Park Primary School

60.  Piara Waters Primary School.

Latest Articles