Monday, May 20, 2024

34 Queensland schools take up FlexiSpace option

The Queensland Government has announced it will invest $45 million for additional FlexiSpaces at Queensland schools – with primary schools to be included for the first time.

The investment is part of the Government’s $288 million Youth Engagement Education Reform package announced late last year, that is aimed at supporting at-risk students to stay at school or access alternative learning pathways.

FlexiSpaces are a place in a school where students who are facing challenges in a normal schooling environment can continue to be supported to stay engaged at school while still being able to stay at school with their friends and to eventually get them back into their mainstream class.

Education Minister, Di Farmer, today confirmed 34 schools have accepted the first round of new FlexiSpaces to be delivered as part of the package.

“FlexiSpaces are such a great tool to help schools respond to students who are experiencing challenges in a mainstream educational environment,” said the Minister.

“Early intervention is so critical, which is why we are trialling FlexiSpaces in primary schools for the first time.

“They allow the students to remain close to their school friends, maintain a regular school routine, continue to be a part of their school community and continue their schooling with an uninterrupted curriculum.”

She said primary schools that opt to be in the program will receive support from the Queensland Education Department to design and adapt their FlexiSpace to best suit primary-age children.

“The children will be able to maintain connection with the rest of the school, they will attend classes with their peers, whole-of-school activities and routines, while receiving the support they need to thrive.”

“It’s important to remember, not all students who are disengaged from school are in the youth justice system, but every child in the youth justice system is disengaged from school,” said the Minister.

The new spaces are inclusive, high-quality built environments, with high-impact teaching and learning. They are staffed with teachers who maintain academic standards, access to the Australian Curriculum, and high expectations while providing flexible and individualised support, she said.

The 34 new FlexiSpaces are in addition to the existing 52 FlexiSpaces delivered since 2018. A further 24 will be announced in term three this year bringing the total in the state to 102 by 2025.

For the first time, primary state schools are being included in the program.

The first round of new FlexiSpaces will be located in the following 34 state schools:

  • Mackay Northern Beaches State High School
  • Gladstone State High School
  • Lockyer District State High School
  • Nanango State High School
  • Tara Shire State College
  • Trinity Bay State High School
  • Tully State High School
  • Pine Rivers State High School
  • Tullawong State High School
  • Bracken Ridge State High School
  • Brassall State School
  • Kruger State School
  • Laidley State High School
  • Redbank Plains State High School
  • Victoria Point State School
  • Hervey Bay State High School
  • Nambour State College
  • Urangan State High School
  • Northern Beaches State High School
  • Townsville State High School
  • Beenleigh State High School
  • Coombabah State High School
  • Nerang State High School
  • Pacific Pines State High School
  • Pimpama State Secondary College
  • Cloncurry State School
  • Woorabinda State School
  • Normanton State School
  • Mornington Island State School
  • Cherbourg State School
  • Murgon State High School
  • St George State High School
  • Cunnamulla State School
  • Tagai State College.

Latest Articles