Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Pharmacy Guild welcomes new NT Chief Minister

The Pharmacy Guild of Australia, Northern Territory Branch President, Peter Hatswell, has welcomed the appointment of Eva Lawler (pictured) as the new Chief Minister of the Northern Territory.

“I’d like to congratulate Eva Lawler on her elevation to become the Northern Territory’s 13th Chief Minister. Ms Lawler is known for her willingness to engage and listen,” said Mr Hatswell.

“On behalf of community pharmacists across the Territory, the Guild looks forward to working with Ms Lawler to advance policies that improve Territorians’ access to community healthcare.”

Mr Hatswell said that in recent times, the Guild had worked constructively with the Northern Territory Government to support the role of community pharmacies in primary healthcare delivery.

“This has included steps to enable Territory pharmacists to work to their full scope of practice. By treating more everyday health conditions, community pharmacies can relieve pressure from Emergency Departments and General Practices – as is happening across the rest of the country.”

“The Guild is grateful that, in recent weeks, the Territory Government has made changes to the National Immunisation Program in the NT. Due to the Northern Territory Branch’s tireless advocacy, these significant changes will improve healthcare outcomes right throughout Northern Territory.

“We look forward to working closely with the Lawler Government, so that community pharmacies can continue to improve patient access to affordable healthcare for all Territorians,” he said.

Latest Articles