Wednesday, April 24, 2024

New Victorian education curriculum board chair named

Victorian education sector leader, Diane Joseph, will serve as the new Chair of the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority Board, the state’s Minister for Education announced today.

Minister Natalie Hutchin said Ms Joseph was a nationally recognised education leader, having been involved in the sector for more than 40 years.

“Diane Joseph is one of the most accomplished education administrators in Australia. I’m pleased that she will bring her significant skills and insights to the VCAA,” she said.

“Victoria is known as a world leader in school curriculum and assessment, a position that will only be secured and enhanced with Diane Joseph at the helm.”

Ms Joseph began her career as a maths teacher at the then Footscray Technical School. She also served as principal of James Harrison Secondary College in Geelong, and the Geelong High School, before moving into more senior administrative roles.

She has served as a senior executive in the then Victorian Department of Education and Training with a focus on innovation, and as Director-General of the ACT Department of Education and Training.

Ms Joseph currently serves as chair of a project board for Major Projects Canberra, and has previously served on the boards of a number of education bodies. She is currently the Chair of Education Services Australia, a role to which she was appointed by Australia’s education ministers.

Ms Joseph’s appointment as VCAA Chair is for a three-year term, commencing today.

Rob Fearnside, who has been Acting Board Chair from 1 May 2023, has been appointed to a second three-year term as a board member, commencing on 3 August 2023.

Latest Articles