Wednesday, April 24, 2024

New Townsville health board members named

A 10-person board with experience in primary health, business, general practice, education and law has been appointed to govern the Townsville Hospital and Health Service (HHS), Minister for Health, Mental Health and Ambulance Services and Minister for Women, Shannon Fentiman said today.

The Minister announced the newly appointed board, which will continue to be led by Tony Mooney AM.

Mr Mooney was re-appointed as Chair, a position he has held since 2016. He will be joined on the Board by new members Professor Kunwarjit Sangla (pictured, left), Dr Erin Waters (pictured, right) and Graham Pattel.

“I’m pleased Townsville HHS has been able to attract and retain such experienced, knowledgeable, and well-respected people to the Board this year,” said Minister Fentiman.

“It’s great to see three new members join, who I know they will make a positive impact.

“The new board members are leaders in their respective fields and will bring with them key skills, knowledge and experience to Townsville HHS.

“It’s also wonderful to see Tony Mooney return as Chair for another term.

“I look forward to working with the newly appointed Board to deliver safe and timely healthcare for the Townsville and surrounds community.”

Professor Sangla brings experience as a practicing physician and staff specialist, providing his services to several outreach specialist clinics, including on Palm Island and several indigenous communities.

Graham Pattel.

Dr Waters has experience in research and education and is currently the Director of Medical Services at the Townsville Aboriginal and Islander Health Service.

Mr Pattel brings business and senior executive experience to the Board. He is a local business owner and Director of the Wulli Wulli Disability Services.

Michelle Morton, Georgina Whelan, Debra Burden and Nicole Hayes have renewed their membership for another term and join two continuing members still within their current term, Minister Fentiman confirmed.

The new board, which will set the strategic direction and oversee the management of the Townsville Hospital and Health Service, consists of:

  • Anthony (Tony) Mooney AM (Chair)
  • Debra Burden
  • Georgina Whelan
  • Michelle Morton
  • Nicole Hayes
  • Professor Kunwarjit Sangla
  • Dr Erin Waters
  • Graham Pattel
  • Luke Guazzo.

Latest Articles