Monday, June 24, 2024

New Chair, councillors appointed to WA Heritage Council

Darren Foster has been appointed the new Chairperson of the Heritage Council of Western Australia, the State Government’s advisory body on cultural heritage significance.

Appointed as a councillor in June 2023, Mr Foster (pictured) brings more than 30 years of strategic leadership across all three tiers of government and a wealth of knowledge in governance, sustainable development, Aboriginal economic and social development, environmental policy and regulation.

“With a keen interest in Western Australia’s history and heritage, Mr Foster has academic qualifications in local history leading him to produce oral histories and biographical papers that capture the diverse stories of Western Australia,” the WA Government said in a statement.

Graeme Gammie.

New members joining the Council are:

  • Graeme Gammie – a senior public servant with extensive experience in the State heritage sector and its legislative and regulatory frameworks;
  • Flavia Kiperman – a registered architect and heritage consultant at Element Advisory Pty Ltd, with more than 25 years of experience in cultural heritage;
  • Rebecca Moore – outgoing Western Australian Government Architect with expertise in the heritage and planning sectors and State Planning Policies related to heritage; and
  • Martin Silk – a structural engineer specialising in heritage and conservation, and a former member and Chairperson of Engineers Australia’s Engineering Heritage Committee.

Council member reappointments include Leigh Barrett, who will take on the position as Deputy Chairperson, and Richard Offen.

“Our State’s heritage is rich and diverse, and the Heritage Council of Western Australia plays a vital role in identifying, conserving and sensitively developing our cultural heritage places,” said WA Heritage Minister, David Templeman.

“I congratulate Darren Foster on his appointment as Chair and welcome all of the new councillors who will each make a significant contribution to the conservation, adaptation and celebration of places of State heritage significance.”

Mr Templeman thanked outgoing Chair Nerida Moredoundt and Deputy Chair Lloyd Clark and members Sally Malone and Erika Techera, for their valuable contribution to the Council.

“I sincerely thank retiring Chair Nerida Moredoundt and Deputy Chair Lloyd Clark, who have both dedicated more than 10 years to the Council – an esteemed level of public service by any measure.”

“Along with the other outgoing members, they have made a valuable contribution to helping achieve high-quality outcomes for Western Australia’s heritage places,” h esaid.

The Heritage Council of Western Australia is responsible for advising the State Government on heritage issues, setting the State’s heritage strategy and policies, making recommendations on places to be entered into the State Register of Heritage Places and providing specialist advice on development of heritage places.

Latest Articles