Sunday, July 21, 2024

John Hatzistergos to lead ICAC

NSW Premier, Dominic Perrottet has confirmed the appointment of John Hatzistergos AM as Chief Commissioner of the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC).

Helen Murrell SC, recently retired Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the ACT and Paul Lakatos SC, District Court Judge and President of the Mental Health Review Tribunal, have been appointed as Commissioners of the ICAC.

The Premier said the appointments were made following an open merit-based selection process.

“These individuals have been charged with executing the powerful anti-corruption responsibilities of the ICAC and I expect them to bring their broad expertise and experience to these important roles,” Mr Perrottet said.

“The ICAC is responsible not just for investigations into alleged corrupt behaviour but also works proactively to minimise corruption by educating and advising on corruption prevention strategies.

“I want to congratulate the new Commissioners on their appointments. I am confident we will continue to see the ICAC work to ensure the integrity and accountability of public administration in NSW and hold public officials to the highest standards.”

Attorney General Mark Speakman said the appointments were key to ensuring the ICAC continues to undertake its important statutory functions.

“A strong ICAC plays a vital role in investigating, exposing and preventing corruption involving or affecting public administration in our State,” Mr Speakman said.

The appointments will be for five-year terms and will fill the positions to be vacated on 6 August by the current Chief Commissioner, the Honourable Peter Hall QC, and Commissioners Patricia McDonald SC and Stephen Rushton SC, following the completion of their terms.

John Hatzistergos AM and Helen Murrell SC will commence their appointments on 7 August. Paul Lakatos SC will commence his appointment on 12 September.

Latest Articles