Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Female firsts for new Minns ministry

Newly-elected NSW Premier, Chris Minns, today announced his government’s first full Ministry.

The Minns Ministry is a reduced Cabinet of 22 Ministers but, for the first time in NSW history, will be 50% women (excluding the Premier).

For the first time in history, a woman will also hold the position of Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council, while female Ministers have also been allocated the portfolios of Energy (Sharpe), Police (Catley), Regional NSW (Moriarty), Finance (Houssos) and Regional Transport (Aitchison), for the first time.

Penny Sharpe will take on the responsibility of Energy and Climate Change, Environment and Heritage as well as Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council.

Yasmin Catley will take on the responsibility of Minister for Police and Counter Terrorism.

Jihad Dib will take on Customer Service and Digital Government, as well as Emergency Services and Youth Justice.

Tara Moriarty will take on Agriculture, Regional NSW and Western NSW.

David Harris will take on Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty, Gaming and Racing, Veterans, Medical Research, and the Central Coast.

“I’m proud of the team we have. We have a lot of hard work in front of us, and a big responsibility, but my team and I are up to the challenge,” the Premier said.

“We have a clear mandate from the people of NSW to rebuild our essential services, to invest in the people who look after us – our nurses, teachers, paramedics, firefighters and police officers.

“Our priority is to help families and households deal with the increasing cost of living, the energy crisis and to fix our schools and hospitals.”

In another first today, an Australian Minister was sworn in on the Bhagavad Gita (Mookhey), and a NSW Minister was sworn in on the Quran (Dib).


The Honourable Christopher John Minns MP

The Honourable Prudence Ann Car MP
Deputy Premier
Minister for Education and Early Learning
Minister for Western Sydney

The Honourable Penelope Gail Sharpe MLC
Minister for Climate Change
Minister for Energy
Minister for the Environment
Minister for Heritage

The Honourable John Graham MLC
Special Minister of State
Minister for Roads
Minister for the Arts
Minister for Music and the Night-time Economy
Minister for Jobs and Tourism

The Honourable Daniel Mookhey MLC

The Honourable Ryan John Park MP
Minister for Health
Minister for Regional Health
Minister for the Illawarra and the South Coast

The Honourable Joanna Elizabeth Haylen MP
Minister for Transport

The Honourable Paul Scully MP
Minister for Planning and Public Spaces

The Honourable Sophie Cotsis MP
Minister for Industrial Relations
Minister for Work Health and Safety

The Honourable Yasmin Maree Catley MP
Minister for Police and Counter-terrorism

The Honourable Jihad Dib MP
Minister for Customer Service and Digital Government
Minister for Emergency Services
Minister for Youth Justice

The Honourable Kate Rebecca Washington MP
Minister for Families and Communities
Minister for Disability Inclusion

The Honourable Michael John Daley MP
Attorney General

The Honourable Tara Moriarty MLC
Minister for Agriculture
Minister for Regional New South Wales
Minister for Western New South Wales

The Honourable Ron Hoenig MP
Minister for Local Government
Vice-President of the Executive Council

The Honourable Courtney Houssos MLC
Minister for Finance
Minister for Natural Resources

The Honourable Stephen Kamper MP
Minister for Small Business
Minister for Lands and Property
Minister for Multiculturalism
Minister for Sport

The Honourable Rose Jackson MLC
Minister for Water
Minister for Housing
Minister for Homelessness
Minister for Mental Health
Minister for Youth
Minister for the North Coast

The Honourable Anoulack Chanthivong MP
Minister for Better Regulation and Fair Trading
Minister for Industry and Trade
Minister for Innovation, Science and Technology
Minister for Corrections

The Honourable Timothy Carson Crakanthorp MP
Minister for Skills, TAFE and Tertiary Education
Minister for the Hunter

The Honourable David Robert Harris MP
Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty
Minister for Gaming and Racing
Minister for Veterans
Minister for Medical Research
Minister for the Central Coast

The Honourable Jodie Elizabeth Harrison MP
Minister for Women
Minister for Seniors
Minister for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault

The Honourable Jennifer Kathleen Aitchison MP
Minister for Regional Transport and Roads


The Honourable Penelope Gail Sharpe MLC
Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council

The Honourable John Graham MLC
Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council

The Honourable Ron Hoenig MP
Leader of the Government in the Legislative Assembly.

Latest Articles