Wednesday, April 24, 2024

New chair for Energy Queensland

Sarah Zeljko has been appointed as the new Chair of Energy Queensland Limited (Energy Queensland). 

Energy Queensland is Australia’s largest wholly government-owned electricity company, providing network services to all of Queensland, and retail services to regional Queensland. 

Queensland Premier, Annastacia Palaszczuk said Ms Zeljko’s experience across both private and public sectors and her roles in community groups make her an ideal person to lead Energy Queensland. 

“A lot has been said in recent weeks about our game-changing Queensland Energy and Jobs Plan and how we are transforming our energy future to a clean, green, renewable one,” the Premier said. 

“Like all our energy Government Owned Corporations, Energy Queensland will have a pivotal role in delivering that exciting $62 Billion Plan.

“I welcome Sarah Zeljko as the new Chair of Energy Queensland to help lead that transition.” 

Treasurer and Minister for Trade and Investment, Cameron Dick said Energy Queensland was the key cog in driving the implementation of the Queensland Energy and Jobs Plan.

“Ms Zeljko’s track record of driving revenue growth, negotiating agreements, and delivering construction and project management of large infrastructure projects will be vital in her new role,” he said.

She most recently served as a Director on the Board of Powerlink and has previously held professional non-executive director and governance Board roles for Energy Super, Millovate, Stockyard Beef, LogiCamms and Unitywater.  

Minister for Energy, Renewables, and Hydrogen, Mick de Brenni said Ms Zeljko would provide leadership during a critical time for the energy sector.  

“Ms Zeljko’s experience and background make her the best choice to lead Energy Queensland during our energy transformation, which will see it respond to the changing demands, and objectives of consumers both large and small,” he said. 

“Energy Queensland is at the forefront of delivering the Queensland Energy and Jobs Plan, and I’m confident that Ms Zeljko will help manage the organisation’s evolution, as Queenslanders’ energy needs also evolve.” 

The Government also thanked the outgoing Chair Mr Phil Garling, the inaugural Chair of Energy Queensland, following the merger of Energex and Ergon Energy in 2016, for his leadership of the business through a period immense change and upheaval in the energy market. 

Meanwhile Ian Martin AM has been reappointed as the Chair of Queensland Investment Corporation (QIC). He was first appointed in 2019. 

Both appointments are from 1 October 2022. 

Latest Articles