Friday, June 21, 2024

Council brings NT youth issues to round table

Environment, climate change, mental health, remote community outcomes, healthcare and youth advocacy are among the topics discussed as part of the 2024 NT Youth Round Table.

The cohort, which represents the geographical and cultural diversity of the Northern Territory, met for the first time in Darwin on the weekend.

The 18-member group is tasked with developing leadership skills, becoming more involved with their communities, and having a say on topics that impact young Territorians.

Their advice will enable Government to engage with issues of importance to young Territorians, and inform the development of policies, programs, and services, said Minister for Youth, Seniors and Equality Ngaree Ah Kit.

“It was a privilege to meet members of the 2024 NT Youth Round Table, and to hear about what has inspired them to amplify youth voices and improve outcomes for their peers,” said the Minister.

“The Territory Labor Government knows it is important to listen to our young people so we can ensure our future policies, programs, and services remain contemporary, relevant, accessible, and inclusive.

“As a former member of the NT Youth Round Table, I know how valuable it is to be able to advocate for youth, and develop leadership skills that establish members as future leaders.

“I’m looking forward to following the progress of the members throughout the year and working with them to build a brighter future.”

Representing Alice Springs, Tennant Creek, Darwin, Palmerston, East Arnhem, and the Big Rivers region; the Youth Round Table members will each lead a community-based project throughout their 12-month term.

Since its establishment in 1997, more than 400 young Territorians have actively participated in the Youth Round Table, with Youth Minister Ngaree Ah Kit amongst the alumni.

This year’s members are: Kyila Pepperill and Lydia Budrikis from Alice Springs; Shane Presley from Tennant Creek; Destiny Pluto and Karen Kot from the Big Rivers region; Calvin Lim, Janelle Wong, Nahyan Al Masood, Oliver Wurst, Patrik Ralph, Ashley Parsons, and Cassidy Boja from Darwin; Chloe Tasker, Joshua Morris, Joel Taban, and Taleisha Kirk from Palmerston; and Evannah Stark and Doug Dupree from East Arnhem.

See more about the 2024 NT Youth Round Table here.

Latest Articles